Arugula with Meyer Lemon Dressing

We eat a lot of cooked vegetables. Unfortunately, cooking vegetables breaks them down and wicks some of the nutrients. It’s always a good idea to eat a reasonable amount of raw vegetables to make up for this loss.

At nearly every meal we have a salad. Usually it is a simple, palette cleansing salad like butter lettuce and a very simple dressing. As I describe in my book, learn where the salad dressings are in your local market, because near them are where you will find the ingredients to make a wonderful, healthy and tasty dressing. There is nothing in a bottle of salad dressing that you should be ingesting. And the process of making dressing is about as complicated as velcro shoes.

I have 354 recipes to go, so some of the ‘recipes’ will be more like reminders than complicated formulas. But, I think it’s good to be reminded how delicious something is, especially when it’s an uncommon fruit or vegetable like the meyer lemon.

Ingredients

  • 2 Large Handfuls Arugula
  • 2 Meyer Lemons
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Salad Bowl
  • Fine Grater
  • Hand Juicer (optional)
  1. In a salad bowl, dump your cleaned arugula. I prefer baby arugula as you do not have to de-stem it.
  2. Lightly salt the leaves. Always salt salad before you dress it.
  3. Drizzle with olive oil. I haven’t really given you measurements because it is purely a matter of taste. I like very lightly dressed salads, and my wife goes the other way.
  4. Squeeze the juice of 1-2 lemons. Squeeze one, toss and taste. Add more if desired.
  5. Grate or shave parmesan.
  6. Add some pepper and toss.
  7. Serve in bowls or on the plate.

There are a couple of things about salads that I try to adhere to. First, I always toss salad with my (clean) hands. Second, I don’t let it sit in the bowl, soaking in the dressing. I like to grab a handful, shake it off and serve it on a plate or bowl.

Leave a Reply

