Tomato and Cucumber Salad

I know, I know, tomatoes are not in season. But, there are a few ways that one can grow tomatoes in the winter (in a greenhouse, for instance). I came across some beautiful, organic, yellow heirloom tomatoes at the farmer’s market this weekend and couldn’t resist.

This serves 5 but you might consider doubling it. Everyone at my dinner table last night raved about it and wanted more.

 

Ingredients

  • 2 Cucumbers, peeled and chopped
  • 4 Tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 Cup Kalamata Olives, pitted and sliced
  • 2 Tablespoons Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 4 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 Teaspoon Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Basil, chopped
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Medium Bowl
  • Small Bowl or Cup
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Peeler
  • Clean Hands

 

  1. Cut and peel cucumbers, tomatoes and olives and toss in bowl. My wife likes her tomatoes peeled but I like the rustic feel of this salad so I don’t bother.
  2. Mix the vinegar, oil and sugar together in a separate bowl or cup. Taste for proper acidity. Vinegars tend to vary. You want it to be tart but not overwhelming.
  3. Salt and pepper the vegetables.
  4. Add the basil.
  5. Toss with the dressing. I always use my (clean) hands. It is gentle on the vegetables and you can feel when they are evenly coated with the dressing.
Leave a Reply

