Apple Sauce

There are a few packaged ingredients that I have wanted to make at home for quite some time. I am always interested in making the same staples that we grew up on, but are now only provided to us with a large helping of preservatives, antibiotics, pesticides, herbicides, and now the worst of the worst:genetically modified plants. This latter threat is by far the worst, mainly because of the lack of research into it’s dangers and the lack of labeling when it is present. I think that it should tell you something that all of the industrialized countries in the world do not allow GMO crops in their food supply except the good old US.

Apples are in season right now and every day I walk by my neighbor’s apple trees in their front yard and want to make something. Our neighbor from down the block tells me that she makes the most amazing apple pie from these little beauties.

Here is a simple apple sauce that is great on it’s own or served with pork, duck or even chicken. I don’t like it sweetened but others (including my wife) do, so I have included the optional sugar.

Ingredients

  • 3 Small-Medium, Crisp, Semi-Sweet Apples (I use Pink Ladies)
  • 1/2 Lemon, Juiced (I used a meyer because I had one)
  • 1 Teaspoon Fresh Ginger, finely grated
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  • Pinch Freshly Grated Nutmeg
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 Teaspoon Sugar (Optional)

Tools

  • Chef’s Knife
  • Medium Sauce Pan
  • Fine Grater
  • Peeler
  • Hand Masher (optional)
  1. Peel and thinly slice the apples. I like the sweetness of the apple to determine the sweetness of the sauce. Also, a crisp apple adds a nice texture, even when cooked to softness.
  2. Cover sliced apples with just enough water to cover them in the bottom of the pan.
  3. Boil briefly, then simmer until apples are soft. (about 30 minutes)
  4. Add the spices, lemon juice and optional sugar.
  5. Simmer for another 10 minutes.
  6. Turn off heat and add butter.
  7. When the butter melts, stir and/or mash together. You can blend if you like. I prefer a bit chunky.
  8. Let cool.
There are many options to this simple sauce. I like what the fresh ginger does on meat dishes, but you can go more festive with cloves, cardamom and even curry powder. Also, a bit of heat would be nice. Knock your socks off and let me know if you discover something astounding.
Leave a Reply

