Nancy’s Vegetable Broth

I don’t like vegetable broth that comes in a can or a box. It’s brown. I look around at the farmer’s market or imagine my garden in the spring and the only thing that is brown is the dirt. So I have made several attempts to come up with a homemade broth that I could use instead of the brown, salty stuff. I have failed. I have spoken to several people about this, also with the same claims of bland, tasteless, colored water.

Yesterday, my friend Nancy said: “I make a great vegetable broth.” Normally, I would write this off as so much hyperbole, but Nancy does not tend toward hyperbole, and she is an extremely fine and clever cook. So I am doing something that I normally do not do. Here is Nancy’s recipe.

 

Ingredients

  • Scraps of Vegetables including:
  • Onion Ends and Skins
  • Carrot Peelings
  • Celery Tops
  • Parsley
  • Broccoli Stems
  • Any Other Scraps
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Large (16oz) Zip Lock Bags
  • Large Stock Pot
  • Strainer
  1. Collect vegetable scraps and store them in a zip lock bag in the freezer.
  2. When you have 2-3 bags full, put them in a large stock pot with a little salt and pepper and cover with water.
  3. Bring to a boil then turn down to a simmer for 2-3 hours then let it cool for a while.
  4. Strain, really mushing the vegetables down to get all the flavor out. Do not season again as you will want the flexibility when using the broth later.
  5. Store in the fridge or freezer.

Nancy says that she does not add any garlic, ginger or anything else that is very strong so as to not overpower the other flavors. If you are going to freeze the stock, make sure you label it and store in amounts that you will use later.

One comment on “Nancy’s Vegetable Broth

  1. James Gibbons says:

    Sounds like a vegi stock we use all the time. Great base for all kinds of soup.

Leave a Reply

