Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Squash

I have reached critical mass. That is to say, I am finally too big for my britches. Okay, I’m fat. Is that clear? I eat well and get a moderate amount of exercise. But, at my age, my metabolism has slowed and I clearly eat a little too well and drink a little too well. Time for a shift.

I do not advocate diets. They simply do not work. If you are obese then either you have a medical condition that needs to be treated by a doctor or you have lifestyle issues that need to be addressed. I believe that I fall into the latter category and need to make some adjustments. The challenge is that I don’t actually do anything that bad. I eat very little fatty food and eliminated all processed food a few years ago. I do have the occasional chip and cookie. So what to do, what to do?

Here’s my plan. I am outlining it in front of you all as witnesses. Nearly as crazy as a recipe a day for a year, right? I am going to completely eliminate all alcoholic beverages from my weekday. I’ll limit the drinking to wine on the weekends. I will completely cut out all chips. I usually do not do anything 100% as that is a sure fire way to fail, but chips will not be a problem. I will curtail carbs during the week: no pasta, pizza, potatoes or rice. I don’t eat the bad carbs already. I will eliminate all sugar products. Don’t look for any homemade cookies here for a while.I will continue to pursue the weekday vegetarianism that I started a few months ago. Lastly, I will increase my exercise to everyday and try to up the amount as well.

I will still post carb stuff, especially pizza. I just won’t be eating them during the week. My goal is a lofty one. I want to drop 30 pounds in 3 months. Wish me luck.

 

Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Squash

Ingredients

  • 16 oz. Brussels Sprouts, cleaned and halved
  • 16 0z. Butternut Squash, peeled and cubed
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar (optional)
  • Panko Bread Crumbs
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Large Ovenproof Dish
  • Chef’s Knife
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Prep the vegetables and intermingle them in a single layer in the dish. You can buy butternut squash already cleaned and cut but make sure that the price isn’t completely out of line with a whole one. Peeling a whole squash requires some skill but is not impossible and can sometimes save you as much as half.
  3. Sprinkle brown sugar and the bread crumbs over top. Both of these ingredients are optional and I will be leaving them out this week.
  4. Drizzle with olive oil.
  5. Salt and Pepper.
  6. Roast in the oven for 45 minutes.

There is absolutely nothing complicated about this dish but it is really delicious. This is a staple around our house in the winter. We probably have it once a week. Try the brown sugar version if you are not trying to drop 30 pounds.

One comment on “Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Squash

  1. uncle jim says:

    i fell off the sled when you said no alcoholic beverages on weekdays! how would one survive?? there is not enough time in a weekend to get all the drinking finished. i promise sober sunday and to hell with the rest o the week. or something like that. what time is it, anyway? oh well, it’ll all be OK. (somehow)

Leave a Reply

