Pear and Prosciutto Pizza

 

This project is scheduled to last exactly one year, 366 days. During that time, every annual event will occur. This forum gives me the opportunity to mark some of these events and historic occasions.

Today is especially significant to me. 4 years ago today, on a blustery afternoon in New York City, with an $8 bouquet of purple tulips from the local deli in hand, my best friend and I got in a taxi and went to city hall. The ceremony took nearly 45 seconds and we were married. My friend Daryl said it best: “See what can happen in a New York minute?”

I have often avoided clichés. But, I married the love of my life, my soulmate and my partner. We were meant to be together. The decision to wed was easy but our journey has been anything but easy. We are both stedfast in our decision that being together as a loving family far outweighs any challenge that might come our way.

Long before she said: “I love you” she said: “I love this pizza”. This is the one. I hope it brings you as much joy and happiness as it has me.

 

Ingredients

  • 1 Pizza Skin
  • 1/2 Hunk of Camembert {or other stinky cheese)
  • 1 Ripe Pear, thinly sliced
  • 4-5 Thin Slices of Really good Prosciutto
  • Fresh Arugula
  • Olive Oil
  • Corn Meal
  • Pepper

Tools

  • Pizza Peel or Pan
  • Pizza Cutter or Chef’s Knife
  • Pizza Stone (optional and not needed if using a pan)
  1. If you have a pizza stone, which I highly recommend, place it on the middle rack of the oven and preheat to 450.
  2. Lightly dust the pizza peel (one of those big wooden spatulas) with corn meal. These act like ball bearings under the pizza to be able to slide it successfully onto the stone.
  3. Lay the skin (crust) out on the peel. I will include a basic pizza crust next month and have also promised a gluten free one (wish me luck) too. In the mean time, look one up. There are two in “Table For One“.
  4. Evenly disperse the cheese. It will melt and spread out.
  5. Add a single layer of pears.
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until the cheese is melted and the crust is a golden brown.
  7. Remove from oven with the peel.
  8. Add the prosciutto in a single layer.
  9. Top with arugula and a light drizzle of olive oil and pepper.
  10. Wait a few minutes then slice.
Leave a Reply

