Mom’s Doughnuts

I refer to my mother’s cooking often, usually with some derision. There are a few items that my mom prepared that were family pleasers. I think 90% of them contained some sort of sugar.

I woke up this morning to my wife saying that the kids wanted doughnuts. My first thought was that we were going to make homemade doughnuts and I got excited. I have made them a few times over the years but usually the kids want a box with various sprinkles and coatings, politely declining dad’s donuts. I love these because they are from my childhood and because they are sinfully delicious. There is not one ingredient (except cinnamon) that is good for you, but occasionally you just have to be bad. Remember the 80% rule!

 

Ingredients

  • Crisco or Vegetable Oil (amount will vary)
  • Packaged Plain Biscuits (the kind in the roll in the refrigerated section)
  • 1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

Tools

  • Large Frying or Sauté Pan
  • Tongs
  • Paper Bag
  1. Heat over med-high heat enough oil or crisco in a pan to create about 1/2 layer. The only reason to use crisco is that it has a higher smoke point. Although they claim otherwise, it is a trans fat. I only eat one or two of these a year so I don’t worry about it.
  2. In a medium size paper bag, add the sugar and cinnamon and shake a little to mix.
  3. Shape the biscuits into the shape of a doughnut, poking a hole and smoothing the edges.
  4. Place a few at a time in the hot oil. They only need to cook for a few minutes on each side, just so they start to brown.
  5. Flip and cook the other side.
  6. Remove to a plate covered in a paper towel to remove excess oil.
  7. Drop a few into the paper bag and shake to cover with the sugar mixture.

Make sure to eat these warm. Actually, they will not last so this is a silly statement.

One comment on “Mom’s Doughnuts

  1. Doug Baker says:

    Now there’s a 4 Hart recipe I’ve shared quite a few times! Like every great recipe, the trick is in the timing. Still, I must confess to using any handy oil/shortening and trusting to fate. Think I’ll give it a fresh attempt this weekend with my boys!

Leave a Reply

