Airplane Food

Today I flew to Nashville. I never fly on American so I was in a foreign terminal and the back of every line. Not that I’m complaining, it’s just that my normal routines to deal with the airlines careful extraction of any sort of decent food service had been thwarted. I did find what looked like a decent sandwich shop and attempted to buy the turkey (cut in half). I really don’t like chomping on a foot long sandwich while my neighbor tries to figure out what is in their mystery box.

I wasn’t hungry on the flight so the sandwich sat until I reached my destination. At which point I took a bite of the “Ham” sandwich with apple, brie and mayo. Not only did the guy give me the wrong sandwich but mayo 5 hours later is not a good idea.

Here is my suggestion for modern travel. Pack a lunch, preferably one that is easy to eat, does not go bad un-refrigerated and you like. I like eating little bits at a time on a plane. Even if it’s a sandwich, I will have it a bite or two at a time. So I suggest that you try this sandwich. And for snacks, cut up some carrots, celery and apple with a squeeze of lemon and put them in little sandwich bags. You are allowed to carry on food and you are allowed to take it through security as long as it is not liquid.

Ingredients

  • Prosciutto
  • Good Rustic Bread
  • Brown Mustard
  • Parmesan
  • Arugula
  • Olive Oil
  • Pepper

Tools

  • Chef’s Knife
  • Sandwich Bag
  1. Build yourself a sandwiches with the prosciutto, parmesan, mustard and arugula. This combination is perfect because nothing will spoil (within reason). 
  2. Drizzle with a little good olive oil and a crack of pepper.
  3. Cut into little, manageable sandwiches. Make as many as you can. Your neighbor will really appreciate the break from the 34 thousand foot special.

Leave a Reply

