Mushroom and Onion Flatbread

I am spending the week in Nashville and unfortunately not cooking. Last night I was still feeling a little under the weather. I didn’t want much to eat so I settled for a glass of wine and an appetizer at the hotel bar. I am not going to generalize about the food in Nashville. I have been assured that there is good food here. But the pizza like dish that I ordered last night was not, well, appetizing.

I can’t just say the pizza stinks. Here I offer you my version that I think is delicious. I hope you enjoy it.

Ingredients

  • Pizza Skin (see Feb. 25)
  • 1/2 Small Onion, Sliced
  • 1 Cup Mushrooms, Sliced
  • Small Chunk Goat Cheese
  • Corn Meal
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Pizza Stone or Pizza Pan
  • Pizza Peel
  • Non-Stick Pan
  • Chef’s Knife
  1. Pre heat the oven to 450.
  2. Add the mushrooms with a little salt and saute until they become soft and the liquid wicks out.
  3. Remove the mushrooms and add a little olive oil.
  4. Saute the onions.
  5. Sprinkle corn meal on a pizza peel.
  6. Place the skin on top of the corn meal and very lightly drizzle with olive oil. Spread out with fingers.
  7. Layer onions then mushrooms.
  8. Evenly distribute little chunks of goat cheese over top.
  9. Bake for about 10 minutes, until the cheese is melted and crust is golden brown.
Leave a Reply

