Potato Parsnip Soup

Another evening in Nashville and the mistake of ordering room service. I thought that soup is generally hard to screw up too much, even if they call it bisque. I was wrong. I ordered some shoe string french fries as well. Are they supposed to be faintly sweet? I really shouldn’t be complaining about Nashville food as much as hotel food. My experiences so far that have not been good are all in the hotel. I can remember all of the good hotel meals I have had. Considering the sheer number of hotels that I have stayed in over the years that speaks for itself.

Here is my version of what I ordered. I hope you find that you can finish your bowl.

Ingredients

  • 4-5 Medium Potatoes (red of white), cut into small chunks
  • 2 Parsnips, peeled and chopped
  • 2 Celery Stalks, Chopped
  • 1 Onion, Chopped
  • 3 Cloves of Garlic, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 6 Cups Broth and/or Water
  • 3 Slices of Bacon
  • Fresh Thyme
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • Splash of Cream
  • White Wine or Beer

Tools

  • 4-6 Qt. Pot
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Peeler
  • Blender or Stick Blender (optional)
  1. Cook the bacon over medium heat in the bottom of the pot until crispy.
  2. Remove to a paper towel.
  3. Add a little olive oil to the bacon grease and saute the garlic.
  4. Deglaze the pan with either a glug of white wine or beer, scraping all of the bits off of the bottom.
  5. Add the celery to pan with a bit more olive oil.
  6. Salt and Pepper and saute for a few minutes.
  7. Add potatoes, parsnips and broth and bring to a brief boil.
  8. Add whole sprigs of the herbs and a little more salt and pepper.
  9. Reduce and simmer for an hour.
  10. Turn off the heat, remove the herbs including the bay leaf.
  11. Stir in the cream then blend (optional).
2 comments on “Potato Parsnip Soup

  1. Karla says:

    Good heavens, I hope you get to go home soon, as you appear to be suffering, food-wise. Can I skip the bacon in this recipe and still get a good soup? I will use the optional cream. I love parsnips, thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

