Chilled Pear Soup

I am not a huge fan of fake anything, especially when it comes to food. If I decide to not eat red meat I won’t eat red meat; I won’t try to eat some tofu concoction that vaguely reminds me that I am not actually eating meat. Its the same with any artificial flavoring. Once you have had the real deal, whether it’s watermelon or mango or lime, the chemical substitutes pale in comparison.

I think this all stems from wanting to be honest with myself and everyone around me. In order for me to eat well I need to actually do what I say and read. I know that I like certain foods that are not particularly good for me, so I try to limit my intake of them; I don’t try to find things that remind me that I am not eating what I like.

Ironically, one of my favorite things is real food that tastes like something else, even though it has none of the same products. Earlier this year, I printed a recipe for a cocktail that tasted just like a Push Up ice cream bar. It was made with all natural ingredients and was delicious on its own, but it did remind me of that childhood treat. They are usually in another context and are not trying to replace the original – a drink that tastes like an ice cream bar or soup that tastes like a candy. Here is another of those reminders. This soup is wonderful in summer and reminds me of the “bit-o-honey” candy of my youth.

Ingredients

  • 6 Pears (Anjou or Bartlett)
  • 1 Quart Chicken Broth
  • 1 Teaspoon Mild Curry Powder
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Heavy Cream
  • Cayenne Pepper

Tools

  • Large Stock Pot
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Medium Strainer
  • Blender
  1. Half the pears and scoop out the core with a spoon. 
  2. Cut in pieces, do not peal.
  3. Pour the broth into a mixing bowl and add the pears to keep from browning.
  4. In a large saucepan or stock pot saute the onion in olive oil.
  5. Once translucent, add the curry powder. Saute until fragrant.
  6. Add pears and broth. If there is not enough broth to cover the pears add a little water to cover.
  7. Bring to a brief boil then simmer for 20 minutes.
  8. Blend with stick blender, in a food processor or blender. 
  9. Strain through a med. mesh strainer.
  10. Cover and refrigerate for 2-4 hours. 
  11. Remove 10 minutes before serving and stir in the cream.
  12. Swirl in a dash of cayenne in each serving.
Leave a Reply

