Tomato Salad

I’ve been working in a editing room for the past several days and doing the one thing that I do not recommend, eating at my desk. All of our meals are brought in and we continue to work as we eat. I can do anything for a short period of time so I just do it. My main strategy is to order salads.

Yesterday I ordered a grilled vegetable salad. When it was handed to me I had to use two hands. I kid you not, the container weighed at least five pounds. It was from a local deli. I have never liked delis for this reason but I usually keep this opinion to myself. So, if you don’t like complaining you should jump to the recipe.

Restaurants and, for some reason, all delis pile on the food. This is really irritating. I have actually sent sandwiches back when they come with meat measured in inches of thickness. I try to avoid these places as I know this will always happen. I often quip: “Where is the family of 4 to eat this?” It’s not just that I don’t want such huge portions, I am offended by the waste. Who cares that the Arts/Cantors/Carnegie Deli’s of the world have the worlds largest sandwich. I would be much more impressed and would feel much better about ordering or eating at a deli that advertised “Gives more food to the homeless than that joint across the street”, or some other such clever saying.

Enough whining.

Tomatoes are just starting to show up at the farmers markets. We have ours in the ground and should start to see the first ones in about a month. I just can’t help starting the tomato recipes now. This is one of the simple ones.

Ingredients

  • 4 Ripe Medium Tomatoes
  • 1/2 Red Onion, diced
  • 2 Cloves of Garlic, diced
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Basil, chopped
  • 4 Tablespoons Best Olive Oil
  • 2 Teaspoons Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Chef’s Knife
  • Bowl
  1. Toss the tomatoes, garlic, basil and onion in a bowl. Be careful about the red onion. If it is strong you will need less.
  2. Dress with the olive oil.
  3. Cautiously add the vinegar. The sweeter it is the less you need.
  4. Salt and pepper liberally.
Leave a Reply

