Chimichurri Sauce

My wife cooks more than I do. Whenever I ponder this it upsets me. Granted, although we both have very busy lives, if you would closely analyze the situation she probably has just a modicum more time to cook than I do. But she also cleans more than I do, she does the laundry more than I do and we are about even in the kitchen cleaning department, with me winning the pots and pans nearly every time.

The reason I bring this up is that I have written about the importance of families teaching both their sons and daughters to cook. But, am I somehow still adhering to those age old stereotypes in our own home? I was raised by a pack of feminists after all, how could that be? I never insist that my wife perform any of these chores, but I also don’t go out of my way, stay up all night, or even get up early (like she does) to get a jump on our shared responsibilities.  Any sociologists out there want to weigh in on this conundrum?

Regardless of my own dilemma, I still feel that it is important for parents to teach their children to cook. First of all, the schools  don’t offer it like they should and even if they did, you know the boys would not pay attention. Our approach is to cook as much as possible so they see that it is not some magical secret process. We also throw them in the deep end. About once every week or so when the inevitable is heard: “What’s for dinner”, we reply with: “You’re on your own tonight. Your mother and I have a date.” There are frozen things and leftovers, but all of our kids know how to saute, bake a pizza, make a salad and a quesadilla. The chances of us coming home and finding a malnourished child drooling on the couch are non-existent.

You teach your kids to tie their shoes (don’t you) and to look both ways before crossing the street. As they get older you teach them about checking accounts and driving a car. What could be more important than how to prepare and eat the right foods? You want your kids to live long and healthy lives, right? Seems like a no brainer to me.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1 Cup Italian Parsley, finely chopped, stems removed
  • 2 Teaspoons Dried Oregano
  • 2 Teaspoons Red Chili Flakes
  • 4 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon Red Wine Vinegar
  • Squeeze of Lemon
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Chef’s Knife
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Jar with Lid
  1. Chop the parsley and garlic together.
  2. Toss together in a bowl with chili flakes and oregano.
  3. Add oil, vinegar and lemon.
  4. Stir together and adjust seasoning. 
  5. Store in the fridge in a sealed jar for a day or two or serve right away over steak or on a slice of baguette. 
This entry was posted in Sauce.

One comment on “Chimichurri Sauce

Leave a Reply

