Bacon and Eggs

My grandmother has been featured here before. I am fond of saying that she ate bacon every day of her life and lived to 89 (although there is some question about her exact age). I completely understand lifestyle choices not to eat red meat, processing organs, milk and other parts and products of animals. I even can sympathize with my friend Bruce who will not eat anything with a “smile”. Also, I have known a few pigs (the four legged ones) and know they are smart and can even be loving, cute and funny. Above all, I understand and crusade for the consumption of less meat and poultry in order to save the health of our planet and ourselves. But life is too short to give up bacon!

I don’t eat bacon everyday and probably not even once a week. I seek out the best and most natural bacon that I can find and sometimes pay a premium for that. The bacon that my grandmother ate probably would not resemble anything available today. There were no antibiotics or industrial farming when she grew up. Pigs were raised as part of a balanced farm where crops were rotated, vegetables were grown and chickens, cows, sheep, goats and pigs provided both food and additional income for the farmer. They also grazed  in the pastures and fallow lands (fertilizing as they went) and made the whole cycle work. The animals were cared for and were allowed to grow naturally and be slaughtered when appropriate. It sounds like the fresh, local, organic food that so many of us desire today, but for farmers and the surrounding communities, before the industrialization of farming, it was just called food.

I used to not be able to eat eggs. This was probably a combination a sensitivity in my system along with the notion propagated by earlier nutritionists and doctors that eating dietary cholesterol would raise your serum cholesterol – a theory that has now been largely debunked. I then had an experience at a cooking class where the chickens that were laying the eggs we were preparing were steps from the door of the kitchens. The usual deleterious effect, even after the consumption of several egg centric dishes, did not occur. It turned out that it was the freshness and lack of any chemicals involved in the raising of the chickens (they were on an organic apple farm) that made the difference in both my sensitivity and the taste. I still don’t eat many eggs, and I do seek out the freshest organic ones available, but I don’t any longer avoid them altogether.

Today, I would like to celebrate the bacon and egg breakfast. Everyone has their way of making the classic and I don’t really mind if it’s an omelette, soft boiled, poached, over easy or scrambled with salsa, I just like the occasional egg. Here is a basic recipe but probably not necessary. Treat yourself to however you like it or how your  mom used to make it. Don’t worry about any of the other stuff. Worrying is far worse for your health than the occasional piece of bacon and an egg.

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4-6 Pieces Bacon (The best you can get)
  • 2 Eggs (as fresh as possible)
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Frying Pan (not aluminum)
  • Spatula
  • Jar or Other Container for Bacon Grease
  • Tongs or Fork
  1. Slowly fry the bacon so it releases most of it’s fat.
  2. When crispy, remove to a plate covered with a paper towel. 
  3. Pour most of the bacon grease out of the pan.
  4. Crack two eggs carefully in the pan. Salt and pepper them. 
  5. Do what you want at this point. I like them sunny side up.
Serve with buttered toast. I find that 2 pieces of bacon, one egg and one piece of toast completely satisfies my breakfast desire. 

 

Leave a Reply

