Almond Milk

There are two articles today about Mayor Bloomberg’s controversial proposal to ban sugary drinks over 16 oz. The CEO of Weight Watchers Blogs about it and Tara Parker-Pope writes an interesting article in the NY Times about people’s geometric judgements. Both pieces are worth the read and continue to bring up the point that, for better or for worse, Michael Bloomberg has shined a light on an important subject.

I am personally grateful for a potentially unintended consequence of the new law. I do (vary rarely) like to buy a small soda. I will not drink the poison that is diet anything, but I do like 12 oz (or less) of sugary cola. The option of anything that small is next to impossible to attain at any restaurant and forget about movie theaters. The smallest size at the movies is at least 16oz and sometimes 20oz. That is nearly two servings. So, thank you Mayor, for now I can have my yearly soda while enjoying a film at the 42nd street Gogiggaplex.

I hate milk. I have hated it since I was a little kid. Fortunately, my mom rarely made me drink it. She hated it too. I was 25 before I found out why I hated it so much. I was and still am lactose intolerant. This meant ice cream was also a no no and explained why I was sick every Sunday night in the summer – the night that the family went out for ice cream. So, for all of my friends who suffer with me but still like milk in your coffee or in dishes like pancakes, here is a decent VEGAN delight.

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups Almonds
  • 4 1/2 Cups Water
  • 1 Teaspoon Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Tools

  • Mixing Bowl
  • Blender
  • Fine Strainer
  • Rubber Spatula
  • Container with Lid (for refrigeration)
  1. Soak the almonds in enough water to cover. Soak overnight, uncovered.
  2. In blender, add half the almonds and half the water and blend. Repeat.
  3. Strain blended liquid into a mixing bowl with spout, using the spatula to work the liquid through.
  4. Stir in sugar and vanilla.
  5. Refrigerate.
Leave a Reply

