Apple Salad

There is currently a flap going on in London over McDonalds sponsoring the Olympics. I was watching the food channel this morning and was once again bugged by the ads for processed food interlaced with programming on healthy, whole food. Last year, Jamie Oliver’s television program was sponsored by some big food corporations. These stark contrasts constantly bring up the question: do we have to just live with the hypocrisy that is advertising and sponsorship?

I don’t have the answer. If I were in a position to accept the BILLION dollars that McDonalds gave to the London Olympics to be the only restaurant in the Olympic Village, would I or could I turn it down? Probably not and certainly not if I didn’t at the same time offer an alternative.

I think that our actions as individuals are much more powerful than the actions of a group. If I choose personally not to eat at McDonalds (which I do) I think I send a clear message to my family and friends that I don’t think it is a wise choice. If a group (such as the Olympic committee) chooses to accept a serious amount of money from McDonalds, then the decision was surely a compromise with many aspects being considered. The greater good is not always the better good. Fortunately, individual influences are much more potent than group influences. Individuals have a unique power. We have the power to ignore. Do the right thing and others will follow.

I have said many times here that you can make a salad out of just about anything, but I still feel compelled to share some delicious and often unorthodox salads that I come across. I made this salad because our neighbors have apple trees in their front yard (rare in Southern California) and they are unseasonably ripe right now.

Serves Two

Ingredients

  • 3-4 Small Apples, not too tart
  • 2 Handfuls Arugula
  • 3 Tablespoons Blue Cheese, crumbled
  • 1/4 Cup Walnuts, broken
  • Olive Oil
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Lemon

Tools

  • Salad Bowl
  • Chef’s Knife
  1. Remove the cores from the apples and cut them into bite sized chunks, leaving the skin on.
  2. In the salad bowl, combine the apple, arugula, cheese and walnuts.
  3. Squeeze a light squeeze of lemon over.
  4. Dress with olive oil and balsamic to taste. You can also use the Italian Dressing from the other day. The herbs are a nice addition.
This entry was posted in Salads.

Leave a Reply

