Mascarpone and Figs

I’ve got a plateful this week, and unfortunately it is not a plate full of food. I will be brief.

I am really enjoying the summer. The food of summer is so delicious and the discoveries seem to be around every corner. Every morning when I walk by my garden and see more ripe tomatoes I can’t wait for lunch. I hope you are having as much fun and eating as many delicious things as I am getting to this summer. The heat and humidity have passed for now so we are under the umbrella and licking up the sweetness of summer.

This is a very simple snack, breakfast, appetizer, small plate, etc. You label it whatever you want, I label it yummy!

Make as many as you have figs

Ingredients

  • Figs, Sliced thinly
  • Mascarpone Cheese
  • Baguette or other Rustic Bread
  • Olive Oil
  • Pepper (optional)

Tools

  • Chef’s Knife
  • Butter Knife
  • Grill, Grill Pan, or Toaster
  1. Toast some slices of bread. I like either ciabatta or little pieces of baguette.
  2. Spread a little mascarpone. If you haven’t had this Italian, slightly sweet cream cheese then go find some. It is a real treat. Fortunately, it is now widely available. 
  3. Top with a slice or two of fig.
  4. Drizzle with a little olive oil and a turn of pepper.
2 comments on “Mascarpone and Figs

  1. melissa sullivan says:

    sounds like a delicious breakfast. i have to say, your earlier prosciutto recipe sounds good, but since i slice it all day long, it’s hard to eat…but figs i will never tire of!

Leave a Reply

