Lychee Martini

In today’s New York Times, Mark Bittman the food writer continues about the detrimental effects of milk and the anecdotes that readers have expressed about the amazingly varied maladies that miraculously disappear with the curtailment of milk and milk products in their diet. Being lactose intolerant, I understand the relief. I actually carried pepto-bismal tablets to school every day when I was in grade school – you know the place where they MAKE you drink milk. He also discussed the medical community’s lack of knowledge and their eagerness to write a prescription to stop the symptom instead of discovering the cause. Heartburn was the malady that affected  Bittman to begin this article and that is treated by the traditional medical community with a drug that inhibits the production of acid in the stomach. I would think that common sense would tell you that stopping the production of something in your body that performs an active function is a bad idea. But, like nutrition, common sense must not be taught in medical school either.

I do believe that doctors perform a vital function in our society and have improved the quality of life for myself and many of my family and friends. I also believe that they are still human and are influenced by motives outside of their hippocratic oath. We know so much about food and nutrition that it should be the major part of any visit to the doctor. I just had a physical and I volunteered my diet, I was never asked. Our doctors tend to be dismissive of Eastern medicine (which emphasizes natural cures and avoidance of certain foods) in favor of the more profitable prescription based “solutions”. Common sense should tell them that there are 1.3 billion people in China alone and they seem to be doing just fine. There it is again: common sense. Not a whole lot of demand for it with the white coat set.

Speaking of milk, I have another cocktail today. I am not running out of ideas. I just happened to have a bunch of lychees that were about to go bad and I have been wanting to try this for a long time. I’m happy I did. It looks like milk but will not give you heart burn or any of the other myriad of ailments that Bittman’s readers claimed were caused by that foul white gunk.

Makes two (better not to drink alone)

Ingredients

  • 2 Jiggers of Lychee Juice (7-8 Lychee Berries)
  • 3 Jiggers of Vodka
  • 1 Lime
  • Ice

Tools

  • 2 Martini Glasses, chilled
  • Cocktail Shaker
  • Jigger Glass
  • Strainer
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Hand Juicer
  1. Rinse the glasses and stick them in the freezer. They will frost up in a couple of minutes.
  2. Peel the lychees and remove the seed. Squeeze and press them through a strainer into a mixing bowl or measuring cup; something with a spout. Reserve two of the lychees for a garnish.
  3. Fill a cocktail shaker about half full with ice.
  4. Pour the vodka and lychee juice over the ice.
  5. Squeeze the juice of the lime over the ice and shake well.
  6. Remove the glasses from the freezer and divide the drink equally.
  7. Garnish with two halves of a lychee (without the pit).
Leave a Reply

