Parmesan Corn

The week was long, the work was good and the weekend is finally here. The weather has turned nice in Los Angeles, although I left Santa Monica this evening and thought I was in Seattle. I am looking forward to the last weekend of summer. My beautiful wife arrives late tonight and surely we will sleep in tomorrow. If any of our children happen to be reading this, ignore us until further notice.

I will grill this weekend. I will repeat a few favorite small plates and fall back to some traditions. I am sharing with you today an interesting variation on one of those traditions. I love corn on the cob in the summer and grilling it is the least work of all the ways to cook it. Corn is wonderful because when it is sweet and fresh there is very little that you can do to screw it up. Boil it, grill it, steam it, grate it, all you need to do is cook it (or not). Look for another recipe with it raw coming up soon.

I used to soak it and keep it in the husk. I gave this up when I realized that it really didn’t impart that much flavor and sometimes was a fire risk. I go for the less green method of aluminum foil. Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 4-6 Ears Fresh Corn, shucked (If your kids do not know the meaning of this word, sit them down on the back porch and teach them)
  • 1 Cup Grated Parmesan (no green cans, please)
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 3 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
  • Salt

Tools

  • Grill
  • Aluminum Foil
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Sauté Pan
  • Brush
  1. Soak the corn in cold water for about 20 minutes if you have time.
  2. Pre heat the grill.
  3. Melt the butter in a pan.
  4. Gently sauté the garlic.
  5. Add the cayenne and a pinch of salt.
  6. Turn off the heat and stir in the parmesan.
  7. Brush each ear liberally with the butter mixture.
  8. Wrap in aluminum.
  9. Grill, turning frequently, for about 20 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

