Mom’s Potato Salad

For the last and crowning touch for the last picnic of the season, how could we not feature potato salad. Earlier in the year, I gave you a french potato salad that I love, but this is the traditional, mustardy, mayo filled potato salad from my youth. My mother made this slightly differently every time but my memory is singular. The measurements are as exact as I could get. She never measured anything. I am pretty sure we didn’t even have measuring utensils when I was growing up.

Ingredients

  • 2lbs Potatoes (She would have used Russets)
  • 1 Cup finely chopped celary
  • 2 Hard Boiled Eggs, chopped
  • 3/4 Cup Mayonnaise (She would have made her own, according to my sister. I have a homemade one, too.)
  • 1 Tablespoon White Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Yellow Mustard
  • 1/2 Cup Green Onion, chopped
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Large Pot
  • Mixing Bowl
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Peeler
  1. Peel and chop the potatoes into bite sized hunks.
  2. Boil in salted water until tender.
  3. In the mixing bowl, combine the mayo, mustard, sugar, vinegar and a good amount of salt and pepper. Mix together.
  4. Add vegetables, egg and potatoes to the dressing and thoroughly mix.
  5. Taste for seasonings. You may also want to adjust the mayo and mustard.
  6. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.
2 comments on “Mom’s Potato Salad

  1. Sounds just like my moms – which I still make! (I usually add some fresh chopped dill though) Must be and Ohio thang…

Leave a Reply

