Salmon Hélène

My main goal in this project is to help people cook. I’m not really interested in gourmet cooking as much as I am conveying delicious and nutritious food that any of my friends or family could fix for themselves and their loved ones without a great deal of hassle, expense or time wasted. This means that I need to keep my ear to the ground for ideas. This recipe idea comes from my good friend and, I am happy to say, loyal reader. Actually, her husband told it to me so, Hélène, if I get it wrong please don’t shoot me.

This is really easy to make but seems like a complicated, gourmet meal.

Serves 1 (easy to double or even quadruple)

Ingredients

  • 1 Piece Fresh Salmon
  • 2-3 Slices Pancetta, cubed
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Shallot, minced
  • Large Handful of Arugula
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Sauté Pan
  • Chef’s Knife
  1. Sauté the pancetta until slightly crispy.
  2. Remove any bones from the salmon and lightly salt and pepper it.
  3. Add the salmon and sauté in the pancetta fat. Cover slightly. Depending on the thickness, the salmon should take 6-8 minutes.
  4. Remove salmon and keep warm.
  5. Add the shallots and the juice of one lemon to the pan and sauté.
  6. Dress the arugula with the pan juices. Serve the salmon over the arugula.
This entry was posted in Fish.

One comment on “Salmon Hélène

  1. Hélène says:

    Almost….I use a mix green salad with aragula plus 3 green onions finely sliced and toss with pan juices and my favorite ….a sliced hard boiled egg to complete !

Leave a Reply

