Jalapeño Cheese Biscuits

A friend is struggling to lose weight. She has recently taken a supplement to help her achieve the difficult task. I wrote to her to suggest a few of the things I know from my adventures with food and nutrition. The particular supplement that she was taking has no proven benefits whatsoever, and even the hippy-dippy wing nuts don’t even recommend it for weight loss. Alas, after trying many things, she has lost 45 pounds. She has more to go and what I emphasized is the one issue that most people who do lose weight deny. Once it is off, you can never go back to the caloric intake level from before, let alone the eating habits.

I also suggested that she reconsider the supplements, especially not the one she was taking. But maybe I was wrong. She certainly shouldn’t take anything long term, but regardless of its known properties, it worked for her. Maybe it was a placebo effect, but it did have AN effect. My biggest fear is that she will stop taking it, become depressed and start eating chocolate shakes. Then she will blame the lack of supplement on her weight gain.

Some of my favorite and most well respected nutritionists do not recommend any supplements and, based on their logic and the lack of empirical evidence, I tend to agree with them. Unfortunately, my favorite nutritionist recommends many supplements at certain times for certain uses that I will not get into here. She is very bright, well educated and is the picture of health, so it is difficult to find fault with her suggestions. But, I need more proof. It just isn’t there. Separating the nutrients from the carrier seems like a bad idea to me. There is plenty of C in an orange and the fiber works in conjunction with the nutrients in the digestive system. Upsetting that balance, even by juicing, seems like a bad idea to me. It cannot be said enough, a diet of whole foods, mainly plants and not too much is the best way to go.

The first time I attempted Jalapeño Cheese Biscuits they came out like rocks. I think they could have been classified as deadly weapons. It turned out that we were making them way too complicated. I now use a recipe adopted from Sally Schmitt’s that she gave me a number of years ago. These are great with Jambalaya.

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  • 1/8 Teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/3 Cup Shortening
  • 1 Cup Grated Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 Tablespoon Jalapeño Pepper, cleaned and finely minced
  • 1 Cup Milk or Half and Half

Tools

  • Mixing Bowl
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Cookie  Sheet
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Blend the flour, baking powder, salt and cayenne with the shortening. You can use butter if you prefer.
  3. Add the cheddar and jalapeños. Make sure to use as sharp of a cheddar as you can find.
  4. Stir in the milk.
  5. On a greased cookie sheet, space forkfuls of the dough about 2 inches apart. They will spread.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes.
Leave a Reply

