Apple Crumble

I read recently that Campbell’s Soup Company is laying off workers and shutting some plants. I never like to see anyone lose work and I hope that those employees are able to find other jobs or retire and pursue other interests. But seeing the salty, processed, horrible cans of crap go away could not please me more. Even though I grew up on it, I will not miss it.

What I don’t know is why this very established company has declining revenue. I can only hope that it is because of a growing movement of people becoming more educated about what they eat and knowing that processed food is not good for them or their children. One can hope.

Here is another apple recipe. I am assuming that you went out and picked a bushel once you saw I was on an apple run.

Ingredients

  • 3-4 Cups Granny Smith Apples, peeled, cored and sliced
  • 1 Cup Sugar + 1/4 Cup
  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1 Stick Butter
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 Teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cloves

Tools

  • Mixing Bowls
  • Pastry Knife (optional)
  • 2 Qt. Pyrex Dish
  • Paring Knife
  1. Pre Heat oven to 350.
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine the sugar, flour and salt.
  3. Cut in butter and mix with a pastry knife or two regular knives until the texture is coarse and even.
  4. Mix the apples with the cinnamon, cloves and 1/4 cup sugar.
  5. Butter the sides of the baking dish.
  6. Spread apples evenly in the bottom of the dish.
  7. Spread flour mixture evenly over the top.
  8. Bake for 45-55 minutes, until the crust top turns golden brown.
Leave a Reply

