Golden Delicious Pastry

The day that I thought I ran out of ideas I actually ran out of ideas. Not really, because I do keep a reserve, but I like to generally let the wind take me where it may. Today it took me into an empty room and beat me senseless. Then, a miracle occurred.  Actually, my neighbor asked me to come over and have a beer. And his mother is my surrogate mother and always is making something in the kitchen that I am ready to steal. She is a gem and thinks of stuff that I would never do.

Golden Delicious apples are nice to eat but a disaster in the kitchen. They do not cook well. When Helen told me that she found a way to cook them, I took immediate note.

Ingredients

  • 3 Golden Delicious Apples, cored, peeled and cut in half
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 Sheet Puffed Pastry
  • 1 Cup Heavy Cream (for Whipping)

Tools

  • Heavy, Ovenproof Pan (Cast iron is perfect)
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Bowl
  • Whisk
  1. Peel the apples and squeeze a little lemon on them to keep from browning.
  2. In the pan, melt the butter.
  3. Add the apples to the pan, flat side down.
  4. Cover with sugar.
  5. Flip apples so they are brown on both sides.
  6. Filp apples back over.
  7. Cover with puffed pastry and tuck in around the apples.
  8. Cook for 15 minutes at medium heat.
  9. Pre heat oven to 350.
  10. Finish in the oven at 350 for another 10-15 minutes.
  11. Whip the cream with a teaspoon of sugar if you like.
  12. Cover with plate, flipping upside down.
  13. Garnish with whipped cream.
Leave a Reply

