Lulu’s Tomato and Fennel Soup

I had a delightful surprise awaiting me when I arrived home tonight. My lovely wife had prepared an old staple comfort food with a bit of a twist (or two). It was delicious and perfect for a cold Monday night after a long first day back at work. Have I told you how lucky I am to be married to my lovely wife. She takes great care of me and knows better than anyone my strengths and weaknesses. Fortunately for me, she compliments my strengths and does not take advantage of my weaknesses. That is a sure sign of a good friend. I am blessed.

What she made were some lovely and simple grilled cheese bites and this rustic soup. There are two other tomato soup recipes here but this one was worth adding to the collection. After all, you can never have too many soup recipes.

Ingredients

  • 28 oz Can Tomato Puree (San Marzano)
  • 28 oz Can Whole Tomatoes (Also San Marzano)
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 3 Stalks Celery, chopped
  • 1 Fennel Bulb, chopped
  • 4 Cups Chicken Broth
  • 2 Cups Water
  • 1/4 Cup Brandy (optional)
  • 1 Teaspoon Walnut Oil
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Basil, finely chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons Tarragon, finely chopped
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
  • Pinch of Turmeric
  • Pinch of Dried Oregano
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup Cream
  • Salt and Pepper

Tools

  • Large Pot
  • Chef’s Knife
  • Stick Blender, Blender or Food Processor
  1. In the bottom of a large pot melt the butter.
  2. Sauté the onion, celery and fennel until starting to soften, about 20 minutes.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients except the cream.
  4. Bring to simmer and let cook for about an hour.
  5. Blend to a coarse blend.
  6. Add cream and adjust seasonings.

Serve with a simple salad and/or grilled cheese.

This entry was posted in Soup.

Leave a Reply

