Springerle Cookies

I dug a little deeper in my mother’s recipe mayhem and much to my surprise, I found my mother’s springerle recipe. If you are not familiar, don’t worry, you are not alone. Pre-internet, I searched forever to find a recipe for these little, hard anise gems. I think I have mentioned before that my hometown had a small but fierce German contingent, my grandfather and hence my mother being part of it. These cookies were a remnant of that somewhat faded tradition. In fact, my memory of sringerles is pretty dim and it was not until well into my 30s that I have any memory of these funny little cookies.

When I came across my mom’s I was surprised by how simple her’s was. I was also surprised that there was no fat, no butter or crisco or anything. Subsequently, I did find others on the internet that left out the fat as well. I think you could add a little butter and not hurt anything, but here is my mother’s recipe as is. All I have done is organize it in my format and typed it so you can read it. There are very few people on the planet that can read my mother’s scrawl.

Ingredients

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 2 1/4 Cups Flour
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Anise Flavoring or Oil

Tools

  • Mixing Bowl
  • Flat Space or Board for Rolling
  • Cookie Sheet
  • Rolling Pin
  • Springerle Rolling Pin or Forms (optional)
  • Spatula
  • Paring Knife
  1. Stir together the eggs, sugar and flour.
  2. Add the anise flavoring.
  3. On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough until about 1/8 inch thick.
  4. Cut with springerle rolling pin, cookie cutters or just cut into rectangles aprox. 1″ x 1 1/2″. The tradition is to have the little designs specific to these cookies but the rolling pins are hard to find and not so easy to use. If you enjoy the tradition then by all means, but I usually cut them into little rectangles and just enjoy the taste tradition.
  5. Leave them on the cutting board at room temperature for at least 10 hours.
  6. Pre heat oven to 325.
  7. On a lightly buttered cookie sheet, bake cookies for 12-15 minutes.
  8. They will keep in a tightly sealed container for a long time. Part of the tradition is to age them until they are really hard. I could never wait.
Leave a Reply

